top of page

USMA’s Drag Racing Leadership Team Formalizes for Long Term Focus and Joint Collaboration; Group Int

MOORESVILLE, NC. July 30, 2020 -- The U.S. Motorsports Association announced today the official formation of the Drag Racing Leadership Team (DRLT). This exclusive group comprises a broad spectrum of drag racing track owners and leaders across the United States, who are committed to working collectively on current and future issues related to drag racing.

The team was initially brought together to focus on the COVID-19 crisis and the restart of racing. The group continues to make this a primary objective, but through group meetings determined a consortium of tracks was an important first step for solving many important issues. Bill Bader Jr. of Summit Motorsports Park has been named the DRLT Chairman and Steve Earwood of Rockingham Dragway will serve as DRLT Co-Chairman.

“The Drag Racing Leadership Team brings together drag racing’s top talent, experience, and most passionate advocates. Getting together is crucial as we are able to inspire, network and learn from each other,” expressed Bill Bader Jr., President of Summit Motorsports Park and newly named Chairman of the DRLT. “Collectively, we can take unified action in the best interest of our sport and our racing facilities.”

The DRLT plans to meet regularly via conference calls for the remainder of the year with an in-person working conference in the works for a later date, likely determined by the COVID-19 situation. The DRLT currently consists of eleven-tracks and is interviewing additional tracks with plans to bring the group up to a maximum of twenty-five member facilities.

Founding Members of the DRLT Include:

  • Summit Motorsports Park, Bill Bader, Chairman

  • Rockingham Dragway, Steve Earwood, Co-Chairman

  • Houston Raceway, Seth Angel, Founding Member

  • Bandimere Speedway, John Bandimere III, Founding Member

  • Gateway Motorsports Park, Chris Blair, Founding Member

  • Famoso Raceway, Blake Bowser, Founding Member

  • Bristol Motor Speedway, Brandon Cross, Founding Member

  • Firebird Raceway, Scott/Brad New, Founding Members

  • Virginia Motorsports Park, Tommy Franklin, Founding Member

  • US 131 Motorsports Park, Jason Peterson, Founding Member

  • Tulsa Raceway Park, Keith Haney/Todd Martin, Founding Members

About US Motorsports Association USMA is an organization founded by a coalition of industry businesses, race tracks, and sanctioning organizations to advocate for all forms of competitive motorsports racing across all 50 States. Since the activation of the USMA five years ago, our team supported by corporate partners and now over 100,000 registered members, has been instrumental in solving many governmental issues for racing. We have introduced hundreds of state and local officials to their racing community. We work tirelessly to advocate for motorsports, solve issues, and build key relationships between racing and government with a focus at the state and local levels.

To learn more about the work of the U.S. Motorsports Association please visit:

bottom of page